Picture
Hi Sonya,
After a terrible period of substance misuse in my twenties, I wish to work in the personal development field. I feel I know so much and could prevent many youngsters going down the same path as I did. How am I to go about getting into the business, as here in Scotland there are no counselling courses. I have a degree in Social Science, but, I think I need more. I'd welcome any advice
Warmest wishes and Regards, L. Glasgow, Scotland

Hello L, Thank you so much for this question- It's truly admirable that you've worked so hard to beat your addiction, and now, wanting to reach back and help others that are struggling is amazing!  L., I can only speak on the requirements that are need here in the US to become a Drug/Substance Abuse Counselor, I'm honestly not sure what requirements are need in Scotland. This is truly a rewarding job and very time consuming so, you first need to make sure that you are emotionally, physically, confidentially and spiritually ready to be fully-invested in such a demanding career. 

L., here in the US drug counselors/substance counselor are required to get the proper licenses and degrees. We have the following services that can be checked but, I'm not sure if it would be the same for Glasgow:

*Checking website for the American Counseling Association and the Association of Social Work Board 
* Calling your local Certification Board for Addiction Professionals
* Check and see if requirements are the same for drug abuse counseling as for substance abuse counseling requirements
* Getting a Bachelors degree in relevant fields i.e. nursing, rehabilitation services, social work or psychology

The other thing I could suggest to you L. is to call local rehabilitation centers' such as, Castle Craig Hospital 0808 149 6997 speak with someone that may be able to walk you through the process. You can also see if they are looking for volunteers to come in and speak with ones and share their personal journeys that can motivate and help others. 

L., again please let me say how admirable this is of you and I hope this has helped you some. Please let me know how you make out and I'm wishing you Continued Success in Everything!!

XOXOXO!!
Sonya LaRae- Certified Lifestyle Coach

Would you like to ask me a question? Please feel free to complete the contact form located her on Whispers in a Bottle or simply e-mail me at: [email protected]

This article is property of LaPaz Image/Event Consultants and copyrights of WhispersinaBottle.weebly.com © 2013. It is prohibited by law to copy, add or release this information without signed authorization of the so said company herein listed in this article under the laws of The United States and Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Copyright Infringement Laws 

Picture
DISCLAIMER STATEMENT: Whispers in a Bottle is dedicated to helping you with your everyday situations. The information in these post/articles are for personal and entertainment use and, all decisions are your own. Where as Sonya LaRae, Whispers in a Bottle, Lapazimageing Fashion Forward and LaPaz Image/Event Consultants  will not be held accountable for any such actions you take.

Photographs Used In Article: Google.com and LaPaz Image/Event Consultants 

Join our sister site Lapazimageing Fashion Forward http://www.lapazimageingfashion.blogspot.com




Leave a Reply.

    Picture
    Sonya LaRae

    Certified Lifestyle Coach dedicated to helping clients, readers and followers with Everyday issues that arise. Sonya has been privately helping clients now she is bringing her knowledge to a bigger and broader audience.


    Tips Tricks And Tutorials
    View my profile on LinkedIn

    Archives

    December 2013

    Categories

    All
    Advise
    Self Help
    Self Help